Final Round Judges

All of the first round judges will be joined by the following in the Final Round of Judging:

Jonathan Maberry is a NY Times bestselling novelist, five-time Bram Stoker Award winner, and comic book writer. He writes the Joe Ledger thrillers, the Rot & Ruin series, the Nightsiders series, the Dead of Night series, as well as standalone novels in multiple genres. His new and upcoming novels include KILL SWITCH, the 8th in his best-selling Joe Ledger thriller series; VAULT OF SHADOWS, a middle-grade sf/fantasy mash-up; and MARS ONE, a standalone teen space travel
novel. He is the editor of many anthologies including THE X-FILES, SCARY OUT THERE, OUT OF TUNE, and V-WARS. His comic book works include, among others, CAPTAIN AMERICA, the Bram Stoker Award-winning BAD BLOOD, ROT & RUIN, V-WARS, the NY Times bests-selling MARVEL ZOMBIES RETURN, and others. His books EXTINCTION MACHINE and V-WARS are in development for TV. A board game version of V-WARS was released in early 2016. He is the founder of the Writers Coffeehouse, and the co-founder of The Liars Club. Prior to becoming a full-time novelist, Jonathan spent twenty-five years as a magazine feature writer, martial arts instructor and playwright. He was a featured expert on the History Channel documentary, Zombies: A Living History and a regular expert on the TV series, True Monsters. He is one third of the very popular and mildly weird Three Guys With Beards pop-culture podcast. Jonathan lives in Del Mar, California with his wife, Sara Jo.

Anne Perry is the international bestselling author of over eighty novels, which have sold over 27 million copies.  The Times selected her as one of the 20th Century’s "100 Masters of Crime".  In 2015 she was awarded the Premio de Honor Aragón Negro.

Her first series of Victorian crime novels, featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, began with The Cater Street Hangman.  The latest of these, The Angel Court Affair, is her most recent of many appearances on the New York Times bestseller list.

In 1990, Anne started a second series of detective novels with The Face of a Stranger. These are set about 35 years before the Pitt series, and feature the private detective William Monk and volatile nurse Hester Latterly. The most recent of these (21st in the series) is Corridors of the Night (April 2015).

Anne won an Edgar award in 2000 with her short story "Heroes". The main character in the story features in an ambitious five-book series set during the First World War.  Her other stand-alone novels include her French Revolution novel The One Thing More, and Sheen on the Silk, which is set in the dangerous and exotic city of Byzantium.

Peter Dunne, Emmy and Peabody Award-winning producer and writer brings three decades of experience in story development, writing, and producing to his workshops. He served as Vice President of
Development for three Hollywood studios before beginning his career as a screenwriter and producer. He has produced and/or written are such classics as the extraordinary mini-series Sybil starring Sally Field and Joanne Woodward, The Judy Garland Story, starring Andrea McArdle, CSI: Crime Scene Investigation,  JAG, Melrose Place, Dallas, Police Story, and Dr. Quinn: Medicine Woman.

Victoria Zackheim authored The Bone Weaver and edited six
anthologies, including The Other Woman, adapted to theater and given simultaneous staged readings at twenty theaters nationwide on 11/9/15. She wrote the PBS documentary Where Birds Never Sang: The Story of Ravensbruck and Sachsenhausen Concentration Camps, the screenplay Maidstone, and the play Entangled.Victoria teaches in the UCLA Extension Writers’ Program.

Chantelle Aimee Osman
Chantelle Aimée Osman is the founder of Author Connect, where aspiring writers can get their work in front of experts in their genre. A freelance editor and consultant as well as the editor of RT Digital Extra magazine,
she is an instructor at the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing. A former lawyer and head of development for production companies in Hollywood, Chantelle is the author of the non-fiction series on writing THE QUICK AND DIRTY GUIDE TO… she has also published numerous flash fiction and short stories. She is currently editing an episodic anthology, SERIAL KILLER, for Polis Books to be released Fall, 2016. Visit Chantelle at:

2011 Anthony Award Nominee

Charles Harper Webb.
Called by Lifescape “Southern California’s most inventive and accessible poet,” Charles Harper Webb, Ph.D. has published eleven books of poetry, includingReading the WaterLiver, Tulip Farms & Leper ColoniesHot
Popsicles, Amplified DogShadow Ball: New and Selected PoemsWhat Things Are Made Of, and his most recent, Brain Camp, published by the University of Pittsburgh Press in 2015.  His book of craft essays, A Million MFAs Are Not Enough, is forthcoming from Red Hen Press.  Webb's awards in poetry include the Morse Prize, the Kate Tufts Discovery Award, the Felix Pollock Prize, and the Benjamin Saltman Prize.  His poems have appeared in many distinguished journals and anthologies, including American Poetry ReviewParis ReviewIowa ReviewYale Review, Harvard Review, Poetry, Ploughshares, The Southern Review, The Georgia Review, Tin House, Poets of the New CenturyBest American Poetry, and The Pushcart Prize. A former professional rock musician and psychotherapist, he is the editor of Stand Up Poetry: An Expanded Anthology, and recipient of a Whiting Writer's Award, a fellowship from the Guggenheim foundation, and the CSULB Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award.   He is Professor of English at California State University, Long Beach, and teaches in the MFA Program in Creative Writing there.

No comments:

Post a Comment